Tagged time machine

Disable annoying Time Machine pop-up with Apple Remote Desktop

Do you hate that annoying popup that shows up in Leopard every time you put in a drive, asking you if you want to use Time Machine with that device? Better yet, if you actually say yes, you’re on the way to re-formatting that drive (albeit with a couple more steps). Guess what, if you’re running a computer in any sort of multiple login environment, you can bet your users hate that popup too, and might come screaming to you if they accidentally erase their drive. Here’s a solution that can be deployed via Apple Remote Desktop as a UNIX command. Just substitute the username of your local administrative account anywhere in the script where you see “admin” in bold:

sudo -u admin defaults write com.apple.TimeMachine DoNotOfferDisksForBackup -bool YES

cp /Users/admin/Library/Preferences/com.apple.TimeMachine.plist /System/Library/User\ Template/English.lproj/Library/Preferences/com.apple.TimeMachine.plist

NB: Each of the two separate chunks of code above is one line in the Terminal or in Remote Desktop.